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ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES CONTROL COMMISSION ADVISORY REGARDING 

INDOOR TABLE AND BAR SERVICE 
 
Local Licensing Authorities are reminded of the mandatory Sector Specific Workplace Safety 
Standards for Restaurants to Address COVID-19.  The text of the updated safety standards may 
be found HERE. 
 
All Licensees licensed for the sale of alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption must 
provide seated food service, at a table or the bar, with the sale of alcohol.  The food must be 
prepared on-site and under a retail food permit issued by a local licensing authority pursuant to 
105 CMR 590.00.  When taking reservations or seating walk-in customers, Licensees should 
obtain a phone number from someone in each party to be used in the event contract tracing 
becomes necessary. 
 
All Licensees providing indoor table and bar service must comply with the following: 
 

I. MASKS/FACE COVERINGS 
 

A. Patrons must wear a mask/face covering at all times when standing or walking inside a 
licensed premise; 

B. Licensee employees must wear masks/face coverings at all times while working on a 
licensed premise. 

Exception- Where an individual is unable to wear a mask due to a medical condition or disability 
that individual is not required to wear a mask/face covering. 

II. SOCIAL DISTANCING 
 

A. Tables must be positioned at least 6 feet from other tables; 
B. The size of a party seated at a table cannot exceed 10 people, however a municipality 

may set a stricter limit;   
C. Recreational amenities such as pool tables/arcade games may be used provided patrons 

are not eating or drinking while playing and are wearing masks/face coverings.  
Licensees may not provide food or drink service in these playing/gaming areas; 

D. In general, Licensees must ensure a separation of 6 feet or more between all individuals 
(patrons and employees). 

https://www.mass.gov/doc/sector-specific-workplace-safety-standards-phase-iii-step-2-for-restaurants-to-address-covid-19/download
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E. All customer-facing employees (servers, bus staff, etc.) must minimize time spent within 
6 feet of patrons. 

F. The opening of dance floors is prohibited in any licensed premises until the 
commencement of Phase IV. 

III. BAR SERVICE

A. Licensees may allow bar seating provided that either there are no active work areas or 
working staff behind the bar are at least 6 feet away or there is a physical barrier (e.g. 
Plexiglass) separating customers from the bar space that is at least 30 inches high.  
A gap/opening at the bottom of the barrier is allowed for food and drink service as long 
as the gap/opening is no more than 8 inches high; 

B. Parties seated at the bar must be spaced at least 6 feet from other parties. 
C. Patrons being served at the bar must remain seated;   
D. Service to standing patrons is prohibited. 

As always, all Licensees must ensure that they comply with the laws of the Commonwealth of 
Massachusetts, and that sales of alcoholic beverages take place only as authorized by federal, state, 
and local law. 

All questions concerning entertainment should be directed to your local licensing authority.  Any 
questions pertaining to public health should be directed to your local health department or the 
Massachusetts Department of Labor Standards (DLS).  All other questions should be directed to 
ABCC Executive Director Ralph Sacramone at rsacramone@tre.state.ma.us or (617) 727-3040 
ext. 731. 
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