Related Boards & Departments

  1. Building Department

    The mission of the Building Department is to protect the public by reviewing, approving and inspecting the built environment, to impartially enforce all rules, regulations and by-laws that pertain to both the State Building Codes and By-Laws of The Town of Westford, and to assist - to the best of our ability - all customers with any questions, concerns or complaints.

  2. Board of Health

    The Board of Health are the policy makers responsible for protecting the public health of the community by adopting relevant local health regulations and by carrying out preventative programs.

  3. Conservation Commission

    The Conservation Commission is the Town body responsible for protecting Westford's natural resources. It is also responsible for the administration of the Massachusetts Wetlands Protection Act and Westford's Wetlands Bylaw.

  1. Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Department

    The mission of the Town of Westford GIS Department is to promote, and develop a geographic information system resource for local decision makers and the general public.

  2. Historical Commission

    The Historical Commission was established January 21, 1975, by unanimous vote of Special Town Meeting under the provisions of Section 8D, Chapter 40 of the Massachusetts General Laws. It has 7 members and 2 alternates, each appointed by the Board of Selectmen to 2-year terms.

  3. Planning Board

    The Board has 2 functions as defined by Massachusetts law: to establish planning goals and to prepare plans to implement those goals, which take the form of the town's zoning bylaws; and to administer the Subdivision Control Law which establishes the process for development of new roads and new housing.