Public Works

  1. Cemetery

    The mission of the Cemetery Department is to operate, maintain, and preserve Westford's 6 public cemeteries; Fairview, Hillside, Pine Grove, Westlawn, Wright, and Pioneer Burial Ground.

  2. Engineering

    The Engineering Department is committed to working with other departments to discover and identify infrastructure deficiencies that cause hardship, inconvenience or expense to the Town of Westford and its inhabitants, and will provide effective solutions that resolve or preclude those deficiencies.

  3. Highway Department

    The highway department services nearly 175 miles of roads, doing resurfacing, road improvements, and snow removal. The department is also responsible for care of the common grounds around municipal buildings except the schools.

  4. Parks & Recreation

    The mission of the Recreation Department is to ensure the smooth, efficient operation, management and administration of the overall workings of the department.

  5. Public Works Initiative Committee

    The name of the committee shall be the Public Works Initiative. Membership will include voting representatives from the Board of Selectmen, School Committee, Library Trustees, Finance Committee, Conservation Commission, Water Commission, Parks and Recreation Commission, and Council on Aging with voting staff representation from the Assistant Town Manager, for a total of 9 members, appointed for a 3-year term by the Board of Selectmen.

  6. Trash & Recycling

    Every week, your household trash will be picked up at the curb. There is no additional fee for the general trash that goes in your trash barrels.

  7. Water Department

    Better understand the work of the Water Department and what they do for Westford.