THE BUILDING DEPARTMENT OFFICE IS NOW OPEN ACCEPTING APPLICATIONS AND AVAILABLE TO ANSWER QUESTIONS AND CONCERNS.
THE APPLICATION PROCESS REMAINS THE SAME, ALL APPLICATIONS MUST BE COMPLETED ONLINE. YOU CAN EITHER PRINT THE APPLICATION ON YOUR COMPUTER AND SIGN OR WE CAN PRINT THE APPLICATION HERE. ANY APPLICATION THAT IS PRINTED AT THE BUILDING DEPARTMENT WILL REQUIRE THE SIGNATURE OF THE LICENSED CONTRACTOR WITH COPIES OF THEIR INSURANCE.
IF YOU ARE LOOKING TO REVIEW A PROPERTY FOLDER PLEASE CALL AHEAD SO WE CAN PULL FOLDER AND MEET WITH YOU REMOTELY OUTSIDE THE BUILDING.
THANK YOU FOR YOUR PATIENCE DURING THIS PANDEMIC
GUIDANCE FOR TEMPORARY TENTS OUTDOOR DINING ADDING HEATING EQUIPMENT AND REGARDING SNOW AND WIND.
FOUNDATION CERTIFICATION REQUIRED
EFFECTIVE JULY 6, 2020 ANY PERMIT APPLICATIONS FOR A NEW DWELLING OR AN ADDITION WILL RECEIVE A FOUNDATION PERMIT ONLY. WHEN THE BUILDING DEPARTMENT RECEIVES A FOUNDATION CERTIFICATION VERIFYING THE SETBACK REQUIREMENTS THEN THE BUILDING PERMIT TO CONSTRUCT THE DWELLING /ADDITION WILL BE ISSUED.
The Mission of the Building Department is to protect the public by reviewing, approving and inspecting the built environment; to impartially enforce all rules, regulations, Pursuant to 780 CMR Massachusetts State Building Code, MGL Chapter 40A, Mass General Law and Westford Zoning By-Law. The Building Department is here to assist to the best of our ability all Owners/Contractors with any questions, concerns or complaints.
NOTICE: ENERGY CODE EFFECTIVE DATE UPDATE:
The December 2019 Board of Building Regulations and Standards (BBRS) meeting included a discussion about the adoption of the 2018 International Energy Conservation Code (IECC) with Massachusetts amendments, which were expected to be effective January 1, 2020. Given the changes have been going through a lengthy review process that has not yet been completed, the new code will not be ready for implementation by the original deadline. Since the BBRS intended the adoption process to include ample time to adjust to the new code, the BBRS has decided that users will be permitted to either utilize the existing energy code (based on the 2015 IECC) or follow the new energy code for a period of six months once the new code is approved and effective per the Secretary of State.
A public notice will be issued once an effective date for the new code is known. The BBRS will continue to monitor this process and will keep the matter as an item for possible discussion on its agendas until the new code is effective.
Effective January 17, 2020
Rule regarding Imposition of Consultant Fees: click here to view
EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2020
2020 NATIONAL ELECTRICAL CODE WILL BE IN EFFECT & ENFORCED
EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2020
120 square feet or smaller - no building permit required (10 feet off property lines)
Over 120 square feet a building permit is REQUIRED - must conform to all setbacks
PERMITS ARE REQUIRED FOR:
|Remodeling/Renovation||Siding/exterior trim replacement|
|Commercial||Commercial - Tenant fit ups|
|Windows and Doors||Demolition|
|Solid Fuel Burning Appliance||Signs|
|Deck (replacements)||Deck (new)|
|Certificate of Occupancy||Certificate of Inspections (110’s)|
Once a Building permit application has been submitted to the Department, it may take up to 30 days to be reviewed. Building permit applications may also require Board of Health, Fire Department, Zoning / Planning Board(s) and Conservation Commission approval. The 30 day time frame does not include other department reviews and approvals. Please plan accordingly.
Please feel free to contact the Building Department with any permit questions. The list provided above is just a few that require a Permit.
CERTIFIED PLOT PLANS ARE REQUIRED
A proposed plot plan is required with a building permit application by a certified land surveyor for a new dwelling, accessory building, pool, any extension to the existing footprint of a building such as an addition, porch or deck. An (As Built) plot plan is required for final inspection.
Once you have applied for a demolition permit online, please print it, have the homeowner sign it and bring it to the Building Department to start the process. We will send a copy to the Historical Commission and circulate it through the Permitting Department. (You also need to apply for a Demolition Permit from the Board of Health, please contact them directly at (978) 692-5509.)
You will need to acquire sign offs from the utility companies: National Grid, Water Department, etc. and provide them to us to complete the Demolition Permit application process. (The required sign offs are listed on the Demolition Permit.)
It is the responsibility of the Contractor/Owner to call for (FINAL INSPECTIONS ON ALL PERMITS). Permits that do not have a final inspection will be stamped that a Final Inspection is required, the permit will be put in their building folder. The folders are public records that are looked at by contractors, residents, insurance companies, real estate agents, appraisers, etc. It is very important to have a final inspection as it closes out that permit and ensures that the work was done properly. Open permits can potentially create problems when you are trying to sell your property.
All files are kept in the basement. Phone requests for files will be given an approximate time as to when the files will be available to view. Requests made at the permitting counter may not be immediately filled and may require returning at a later dated or time to view the file.