Inspections and Inspectors Info

When calling for an inspection you must speak to someone directly. This Department does not take email requests for inspections and can not guarantee an inspection has been received if left as a voice mail message.

The Town Manager appoints the Building Commissioner who in turn appoints the Wiring, Gas, and Plumbing Inspectors. The Inspectors are paid by the Town either by the hour or per inspection. The fees which they collect are turned over to the Town and is submitted into the general fund. 


Inspector:
Office Hours:
**Inspection Hours:
Telephone:
Email:
Building
Chester Cook
Henry Fontaine
Matthew Hakala
8:00am - 9:00am
8:00am - 4:00pm
8:00am - 4:00pm
9:00am - 12:00pm
9:00am - 12:30pm
by appointment
(978) 399-2532
(978) 399-2509
(978) 399-2539
ccook@westfordma.gov
hfontaine@westfordma.gov
mhakala@westfordma.gov
Electrical
Dennis Kane
7:30am - 8:00am
11:00am - 2:00pm
(978) 399-2546
dkane@westfordma.gov
Gas
Chester Cook
Arthur Smith
8:00am - 9:00am
8:00am - 9:00am
9:00am - 12:00pm
9:00am - 12:00pm
(978) 399-2532
(978) 399-2546
cook@westfordma.gov
asmith@westfordma.gov
Plumbing
Arthur Smith
8:00am - 9:00am
9:00am - 12:00pm
(978) 399-2546
asmith@westfordma.gov

**Please note, all inspection times are subject to change. The time given when the inspection is scheduled is only a general time frame. To narrow down the inspection time please contact the Inspector directly on the day of the inspection.

All work that requires a permit whether it is Electrical, Plumbing, Gas, Mechanical/Sheet Metal or Building, also requires an inspection(s) from this Department. Inspection(s) shall be scheduled by the proper contractor / homeowner and is the ultimate responsibility of that party.  Any permit that requires multiple inspections must have a FINAL inspection when the work is completed.